Michigan OWI Lawyers In Royal Oak
FIRST TIME MICHIGAN OWI CHARGES
Are you facing your first OWI in Michigan? You need our experienced Michigan OWI lawyers to walk you through every step of the process, so you can get back behind the wheel as soon as possible. Friedman Law Firm has extensive experience defending first-time Michigan OWI charges.
First-time Michigan OWI: What You Need to Know
In Michigan, offenses of operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of an intoxicating substance are called Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) as well as Driving Under the Influence (OWI). The severity of the charge can range from a misdemeanor to a felony, based on the level of intoxication, number of prior offenses, and the severity of the incident leading to the arrest.
The standard BAC (blood alcohol content) limit for impaired drivers in Michigan is .08 percent for anyone 21 years of age or older. If you are under the age of 21, any BAC is against the law and prosecution will ensue. If your BAC is higher than .17, you will face the charge of a “High BAC” crime and steeper penalties. Operating a motor vehicle under the influence of cocaine or other Schedule 1 controlled substances is also covered under Michigan’s OWI laws.
There is a mandatory driver’s license suspension of 30 days for a Michigan OWI conviction, even for first-time offenders. Jail time is also a possibility, up to 93 days, along with a hefty fine. Add to that reinstatement fees for your driver’s license, as well as an increased auto insurance rate, and it’s easy to see why you should be represented by an an experienced OWI attorney in court. Our legal team at the Friedman Law Firm will work diligently to help reduce the severity of the penalties you face, and recover your driving privileges as soon as possible.
Reducing First-time Michigan OWI (Operating While Intoxicated) Charges
First-time Michigan OWI charges can be reduced with the help of a qualified OWI attorney. Reinstatement of driving privileges for work can often be obtained, along with reduction or even the elimination of time served in jail. Consequences of a first-time Michigan OWI can include everything from jail time to fines, mandatory education requirements, and community service.
While suspension of driving privileges is mandatory, even for a first-time OWI charge in Michigan, it is possible to reduce other charges. Our legal team will bring all mitigating facts and circumstances to the attention of the presiding judge to make sure you are treated fairly as an individual. We can often reduce the amount of any fines which may be imposed while helping you avoid time spent in jail.
Obviously, the ability to reduce any Michigan OWI charges varies in every situation. However, with our extensive experience, the Friedman Law Firm is adept at helping clients reach the best possible outcome in their case.
Our Michigan OWI Lawyers in Royal Oak Can Help
The legal help you choose for your first-time OWI in Michigan can make a big difference in the severity of your sentence and the consequences you face as a result of OWI charges. Our attorneys have the experience necessary to help you avoid jail time, huge fines, and extended probation, which often includes drug and alcohol testing. We take your case seriously, and will prepare the best possible defense for your first OWI in Michigan. When you walk into court with Friedman Law Firm on your side, you’ve taken the most important step in regaining all your lost driving privileges. Contact Friedman Law Firm today to discuss your OWI, and see the difference a dedicated law firm can make for you.