Michigan DUI Lawyers
GETTING A RESTRICTED MICHIGAN DRIVER’S LICENSE AFTER A DUI CONVICTION
Friedman Law Firm understands how important it is for you to walk away from a conviction with your driving privileges intact. Our experienced DUI lawyers will work on your behalf to maintain a driver’s license for driving to work after your DUI conviction. With our experience, strong negotiating skills and our very positive relationships with prosecutors, we can help you keep your job and limit your time without a valid Michigan driver’s license to a minimum.
What Are the Driver’s License Restrictions After a Michigan DUI Conviction?
Michigan law is very clear on driver’s license restrictions required once you have been convicted of operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or Class 1 narcotics. Every conviction does carry a mandatory loss of driving privileges. However, it is possible to receive a restricted driver’s license which will allow you to drive back and forth to work.
A first offense will result in the suspension of your driver’s license for a minimum of 30 days, with restricted driving privileges for even longer. When you retain Friedman Law Firm to defend your OWI (operating while intoxicated) charge, we will negotiate with the prosecution to reduce your suspension of license to a restricted driver’s license. This means you would still be licensed to drive your car to work, a clear advantage over full suspension.
If you have previous convictions for OWI/DUI, it can affect your driver’s license for up to a year. If your BAC (blood alcohol content) is 0.17 or higher, or if you have any cocaine or other Schedule 1 narcotics in your system, the higher license suspension of one year also applies. With the help of a DUI attorney from the Friedman Law Firm, it is possible to obtain restricted driving benefits after a 45-day suspension with an interlock device installed in your vehicle. This can be possible even with “High BAC” charges.
If you are under the legal drinking age of 21 and are convicted of driving under the influence, you can expect your Michigan driver’s license to be suspended for 30 days as a result of Zero Tolerance Laws.
Am I Guaranteed a Restricted Driver’s License After a DUI Conviction?
There are no guarantees in the legal system. Michigan drunk driving laws are serious and convictions do carry consequences due to the obvious safety hazards of driving under the influence of intoxicating substances. The Friedman Law Firm is well-versed in the law and can work on your behalf to help you retain your driving privileges. Our experience and reputation in the courts of Michigan give you the best possibility of your desired outcome, including the retention of your Michigan driver’s license. While restrictions to driving will apply, they can also allow you to retain your employment as you work through the consequences of the conviction.
Our Michigan DUI Attorneys In Royal Oak Can Help
To learn more about how your license suspension can be restored to a restricted driver’s license after a DUI conviction in Michigan, call Friedman Law Firm today and speak with one of our qualified Michigan DUI Lawyers. We will fight for your restricted driver’s license, so you can keep your job while you work through a Michigan OWI conviction. Call 248-932-0900 or email us.