Royal Oak OWI Attorney | Royal Oak DUI Lawyer Near Ferndale
MICHIGAN DUI LAWYER
Michigan’s stance on drunk driving involves many hard-and-fast rules. However, there is ample room for negotiation within the legal limits. Friedman Law Firm will assess the particulars of your case and push for the results you seek.
In Michigan, drunk driving is one of the most prosecuted crimes. Michigan refers to drunk driving offenses as “Operating While Intoxicated” (OWI) rather than “Driving Under the Influence” (DUI). Whatever the label, this type of offense is often associated with other crimes such as driving while under the influence of narcotics (even if prescribed by your physician) or boating while under the influence.
Possible Penalties For A Michigan DUI Charge
Usual results are one or more of the following:
- Jail time
- Hefty fines
- License repeal
- Random drug and alcohol testing
- Educational classes
- Community service
Michigan DUI Blood Alcohol Content Limits
Michigan has rigorous blood alcohol content (BAC) limits, set forth in the state’s Impaired Driving Law:
|Under 21||.00 No tolerance|
|Over 21||.08 or greater|
|Commercial||.04 or greater|
No matter their BAC, Michigan drivers showing signs of impairment can be arrested. It is a crime for drivers to have a BAC of .08 or greater if over age 21 or .02 or greater if under 21. What’s more, under Michigan’s high-BAC law, drivers found with a BAC of .17 or higher will be charged with additional penalties.
Consequences For First-Time Michigan DUI Offenders
Specific consequences for first-time offenders, based on the BAC, are as follows:
|Penalty||BAC below .17||BAC .17 or higher|
|Monetary Fine||Up to $500||Up to $700|
|Jail Sentence||Up to 93 days||Up to 180 days|
|Community Service||Up to 360 hours||Up to 360 hours|
|License Suspension||Up to 180 days||Up to 1 year|
|Points on License||6 points||6 points|
|Alcohol Treatment Program||N/A||Mandatory completion|
|Ignition Interlock on Vehicle||N/A||Follows license suspension of 45 days or more|
|Driver incurs cost of installation upkeep||Required to obtain a restricted license|
Additional Penalties For Convicted Drunk Drivers
Beyond these consequences, convicted drunk drivers may face additional penalties — especially if they have been previously charged with drunk driving or a related act in Michigan.
- Extra $1,000 penalty for two consecutive years under the Driver Responsibility Act.
- Automatic 1-year license suspension for refusing a breath test.
- Automatic 2-year license suspension for 2nd refusal of a breath test within 7 years.
- Automatic 5-year license suspension for 3rd refusal of a breath test within 7 years.
The legal consequences of driving drunk are determined not only by the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC), but also the circumstances leading to arrest. These details determine whether a DUI is a felony, misdemeanor, or lesser charge reached in a plea bargain.
Royal Oak DUI Lawyers
Because every outcome has life-altering possibilities, the experienced legal team of Friedman Law Firm will review every aspect of your case, including driving and criminal history, police report, breath tests, and roadside behavior. If you are ready to begin safeguarding your future following a drunk driving incident, we are standing by for your free consultation.
For help with your Michigan drunk driving case, please contact Friedman Law Firm today.